Zio: The Godfather

My Zio, William J. Caroni, just recently passed away on January 22, 2013.  We called him the Godfather because he was italian, exceptionally wise, loving, and he loved his glass or two of vodka each night.  Over the years I have learned so much from this man.  He was the reason I took italian classes in school and one of the reasons why my parents took our family to Italy for our first international trip.  Every single time I would come home on vacation, I would make it a priority to go see him.  When Kirk Weisler was taking about the two different ways you enter a room, the “Im here way,” and the, “You’re here way,” made me think about Zio.  Every single time he would enter a room, he would look you in the eyes, give a big smile, grab your hand, and give you a kiss while saying how happy he was to see you, etc.  He showed you love every second that he could.

One story that stays in my head was when my Dad took me to Zio’s house a few days after I got caught intoxicated by the police.  My parents were so disappointed in me and I could see it in their eyes.  When I was over there, Zio sat me down and just looked at me in silence.  He then pointed his finger at me and said, “Don’t you ever disappoint your parents again.”  At that moment I feared him but at the same time I love him for calling me out.  He treated me as if I was his grandson and he wanted me to learn from my mistakes.

The last words he said to my parents were, “Get together with your family and friends for a nice meal.  Enjoy good food and each other.  Make it a happy time and be thankful.  I love you.”  I will live by these words for the rest of my life.  I love you Zio and I miss you everyday.Zio: The Godfather

Leave a comment

April 6, 2013 · 8:33 pm

Leave a Reply

