Everyday Heroes: Ordinary People Doing Extraordinary Things

I came across this article when I was just trying to look for a good motivational read.  Everyday Heroes: Ordinary People Doing Extraordinary Things is about 50 ordinary Americans like you and I, that have founded non-profit organizations and are making a difference in the world.  This article happens to focus on the women that are talked about in the book.  In CSR 309, Dr. Feinberg asked the men in the class to write down what women thought of men and what men want women to think of them.  He asked the women in the class the same question but visa versa.  I have never been asked a question like this so it was somewhat hard to answer.  Women are very powerful and are able to strive in the workplace just as much as men are.  It all comes down to the mentality and the dedication that women and men put into their work.  I do agree that women might have a harder time rising up through a business but that doesn’t mean that they can’t.  Their successes in an organization will be noticed and praised just like mens successes will.

This article and title of the book also made me think of how I can do an extraordinary thing.  An extraordinary thing doesn’t have to be something that will change the world.  It can be anything from helping an old women with her grocery bags, helping a kid get a ball thats stuck in a tree, or making a person laugh who is going through a tough time in life.  Having the ability to help others is an extraordinary thing.  Many people believe that they can only do extraordinary things when they are in a position of power but that is not the case.  Ordinary people are capable of doing anything that can change a persons attitude, life, etc.  When I was young, I went to a camp where I didn’t know a single person there and everyone else already had friends.  I was shy when I was young and I didn’t know how to deal with uncomfortable situations such as the one I was in.  I was sitting by myself in the play yard and one of the camp counselors, came up, introduced himself and just talked to me.  We kicked around the soccer ball for about 15 minutes and then he introduced me to most of the other campers.  From then on, I wasn’t shy and I was included in many activities with the rest of my peers.  The counselor was an ordinary person and he made it his goal to help me make friends and get the most out of the camp.  What he did, in my eyes, was extraordinary.

Opportunities to do things that people will remember come across our paths everyday.  It is up to you to decide what you want to do with that opportunity when it crosses your path.

Leave a comment

April 8, 2013 · 3:42 am

Leave a Reply

